Skip to product information
1 of 1

Arthur Russell

The World Of Arthur Russell (3LP)

The World Of Arthur Russell (3LP)

Label: Soul Jazz Records
Cat No: SJR LP83

Media condition: Near Mint (NM)
Sleeve condition: Near Mint (NM)
Regular price €28,00
Regular price Sale price €28,00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A1. Dinosaur L - Go Bang (Francois Kevorkian Mix) 7:35
A2. Lola - Wax The Van 5:27

B1. Loose Joints - Is It All Over My Face (Larry Levan Mix) 6:57
B2. Arthur Russell - Keeping Up 6:20

C1. Arthur Russell - In The Light Of The Miracle 13:21

D1. Arthur Russell - A Little Lost 3:18
D2. Loose Joints - Pop Your Funk 6:38

E1. Arthur Russell - Let's Go Swimming (Walter Gibbons Mix) 5:14
E2. Dinosaur L - In The Cornbelt (Larry Levan Mix) 5:57

F1. Arthur Russell - Treehouse 2:17
F2. Indian Ocean - Schoolbell/Treehouse (Walter Gibbons Mix) 10:05


Arthur Russell - The World Of Arthur Russell

A now classic 2003 Arthur Russell compilation courtesy of Soul Jazz Records which (along with Audika's Calling Out Of Context comp the following year) was instrumental in kickstarting the huge renewed interest in Russell's work. It seems strange now but before this compilation release, and despite four solo albums to his name and a posthumous 1994 comp released by Philip Glass, it wasn't until this release that Russell started to finally receive the credit he deserved.

This release focuses on the more dance-floor friendly side of Russell's genius but also delivers some of his more subdued and introspective works. A monumental and absolutely essential compilation.

Please note that despite a broken seal this record has been graded as Mint as it has never been played.

View full details