Skip to product information
1 of 1

Lee 'Scratch' Perry

Open The Gate (3LP box)

Open The Gate (3LP box)

Label: Trojan Records
Cat No: PERRY 2

Regular price €35,00
Regular price Sale price €35,00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A1. Anthony "Sangie" Davis & Lee Perry - Words
A2. Devon Irons & Dr. Alimantado - Vampire

B1. The Heptones - Babylon Falling
B2. The Upsetters - Babylon Falling Version
B3. The Heptones - Mistry Babylon
B4. The Upsetters - Mistry Babylon Version
B5. Leroy Sibbles - Garden Of Life

C1. Carlton Jackson - History
C2. Junior Delgado - Sons Of Slaves
C3. Watty Burnett - Open The Gate

D1. The Diamonds - Talk About It
D2. The Upsetters - Yam - A - Ky
D3. Eric Donaldson - Cherry Oh Baby
D4. Watty Burnett - Rainy Night In Portland

E1. Horace Smart & The Upsetters - Ruffer Ruff & Ruffer Dub
E2. The Congos - Neckodeemus
E3. The Twin Roots - Know Love

F1. Lee Perry - City Too Hot
F2. Lee Perry - Bionic Rats
F3. Junior Murvin - Bad Weed


Lee Perry - Open The Gate

An expansive 1989 3LP boxset from Trojan showcasing all the madcap genius hallmarks of Lee Perry's productions

"OPEN THE GATE is one of the finest available collections of Lee Perry's Black Ark Studio work. This astonishingly strong collection of tracks from 1974 to 1976 features many singers from Perry's usual stable, including Anthony Davis, Devon Irons, The Heptones, Leroy Sibbles, Carlton Jackson, the great Junior Delgado, Watty Burnett, The Diamonds, Junior Murvin, and Eric Donaldson. The latter's remake of his own hit "Cherry Oh Baby" positively smokes the original.Don't be fooled by the skimpy 17-track length of this three-disc set. Most of the tracks include their own dub versions, so the average track length ranges from six to nine minutes. Picking highlights is a fruitless exercise. This collection is essential to all fans of roots reggae."


View full details