Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dennis Bovell

Mek It Run (2LP)

Mek It Run (2LP)

Label: Pressure Sounds
Cat No: PSLP075

Media condition: NEW
Sleeve condition: NEW
Regular price €17,99
Regular price Sale price €17,99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Dennis Bovell - Mek It Run

A1. Vargen (Dub For Basboosa) 3:41
A2. Mek It Run (Run Rasta Run) 2:40
A3. Princess Dub 4:18
A4. In Tha Mix 3:46

B1. Secret Service 4:01
B2. Dub D'Cap'n 3:35
B3. Floods Of Tears 3:49
B4. Saxophonagravaparachuterregga 3:47

C1. Afreecan feat. I-Roy 3:35
C2. Binghi Man 3:35
C3. Dub Code 3:45
C4. Regole Pas 3:54

D1. Burden feat. I-Roy 4:47
D2. Cross To Bear 4:45
D3. Wallpaper Eraser 3:14
D4. After The Storm (Tahrir Rock) 5:05


Dennis Bovell - Mek It Run

A heavy duty 2LP collection of some incredible rescued dubs from the UK legend spanning over the last 30 years.

"Following recent neck surgery Dennis Bovell was under some heavy medical discipline -  amongst other restrictions there was to be strictly no playing of the bass. Now, more than any musician, the bass player has an almost physical connection to his chosen instrument, umbilical even, so the prospect of no vibration sensation was going to be difficult to deal with for the recovering Dennis. Not one to let such news impede his onward path Dennis came up with the idea of returning to unfinished work in an attempt to distract attention from his enforced low-end bass cold turkey.

Down in his musical lock-up lay a stack of boxes containing old 2 inch multi-track analogue master tapes, some dating back to the late seventies; Dennis selected some likely looking titles that never had dub treatment and arranged some time in Neil 'The Mad Professor' Fraser’s studio as he knew the Prof had every gadget under the sun, there he “baked” tapes ready for digital conversion via an Alesis HD24 a 24 track, 48kHz hard disk recorder rescuing the sounds from an inevitable oxidisation process that comes with age.

At the mixing end Dennis utilises a whole range of outboard gear from old analogue to the latest digital sets, explaining the unique and separate end sounds of the dubs presented on the album."

View full details