Skip to product information
1 of 1

Prince Douglas

Dub Roots (LP)

Dub Roots (LP)

Label: Wackies
Cat No: Wack 295

Media condition: NEW
Sleeve condition: NEW
Regular price €16,99
Regular price Sale price €16,99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Prince Douglas ‎– Dub Roots

A1. Jam Love Dub 4:19
A2. Hard Times Dub 2:55
A3. Let Me Love You Dub 3:39
A4. Tongue Shall Tell Dub 2:57
A5. March Down Babylon Dub 4:43

B1. Sunshine Dub 3:59
B2. You And Me Dub 3:30
B3. North Of The Border Dub 5:18
B4. Tribesman Dub 3:41


Prince Douglas ‎– Dub Roots

Engineer Douglas Levy was part of the original Wackies set up from 1974-75, alongside Lloyd Barnes and Jah Upton. For a while he would have his own label - Hamma - within the Bullwackies group; but besides Sugar's International Herb, this 1980 dub album is his finest work. Wackies' fans have been clamouring for its reissue ever since Rhythm & Sound began making the catalogue available again.

Many of the rhythms are derived from a tape given to the studio by Sly and Robbie, containing their versions of recent Joe Gibbs hits. And there are brilliant treatments of Tribesman Dub - the rhythm for Tyrone Evans' Black Like Me - and Wayne Jarrett's definitive interpretation of Every Tongue Shall Tell. Elsewhere Jah Batta takes deejay duties - likewise Prince Douglas himself. (And there are lovely skewed graphics by team regular Leslie Moore, self-styled 'LAM International'). But the deadliest cut of all reworks another gift, Steel Pulse's Handsworth Revolution, which arrived in a parcel of records from England the same weekend as the session: March Down Babylon Dub, with Bullwackie himself at the microphone in his Chosen Brothers guise, as steely and apocalyptic as Douglas Levy's fabulous production.

View full details